Give to a Scholarship Fund

For more than 30 years, various groups of St. Paul’s United Methodist Church have provided or administered scholarships to students pursuing higher education. Most of these scholarship funds were established to memorialize or honor others. Gradually, these have come under the administration of St. Paul’s Methodist Foundation of Houston. Recipients are selected annually by the Scholarship Committee.

Donations to any of the scholarship funds may be made at any time, and new scholarship funds may be established. Scholarship money is distributed only from earnings of the individual funds. The principal remains intact. For more information about giving toward or establishing a new scholarship fund, contact the Foundation at 713-528-0527 or

Descriptions of Scholarships

These scholarships are awarded to qualified applicants, regardless of area of study or school attending. 

Kurt & Tara Arnold. The Arnold Scholarship was established in 2012 by Kurt & Tara Arnold for the purpose of assisting students with the expense of higher education.

Alberta Baines. This fund was established as a memorial to Dr. Alberta Baines at the time of her death in 1975. Dr. Baines was a teacher in the Baines adult Sunday School class, a prominent educator, and an Assistant Superintendent in Houston ISD.

Eula Bakker Scholarship Fund. Established on February 17, 2014 through a testamentary bequest to provide scholarship support for deserving individuals attending institutions of higher learning.


Bates Family. This fund was established in 2001 by a gift from the will of Maurine Bates as a memorial to her parents, Emma Irwin and Stephen F. Bates, and her siblings, Howard, Clyde, Stephen, and Irma. Ms. Bates retired from Houston ISD after teaching Spanish for 50 years at Reagan and Waltrip high schools.

Blair Family. Mrs. Travis (Dorothy) Bryan established this fund in 1996 in memory of her parents, Paris Boone and Robert C. Blair, and her brother, Samuel Blair. Prior to her death in 2000, she made annual gifts to honor her great-grandson, Sam Shimek.

Ellena P. & Robert H. Dickerson. The Dickerson Scholarship was established in 2009 by Mrs. Ellena P. Dickerson in her husband’s memory. This scholarship is a wonderful way to provide scholarship funds to students for years to come.

William T. and Barbara Grisham. The Grishams established this fund in 1995 for the primary purpose of assisting students with serious financial need. Students do not have to be a member of St. Paul’s to apply.


Charles Frances Hiller. A memorial to Dr. Charles Hiller, this fund was established at his death in 1982. A beloved teacher of the Men’s Fellowship Sunday School class for more than 40 years, he also was an English professor at the University of Houston.

St. Paul’s Methodist Foundation. This fund was established in 1988 from accumulated unrestricted contributions. Henceforth, all memorials and tributes designated for “Scholarship,” but not to a specific scholarship, are dedicated to it.

Jay & Renna Williamson. The Williamson Scholarship was established with the estate of Renna Norris Williamson in her and her husband’s, Rev. Jay Williamson’s, memory. Rev. Williamson served as an elder in the Texas Annual Conference. The scholarship was established to support education pursuits for years to come.

These scholarships are awarded to qualified applicants based on SPECIFIC major and/or school attending.

Anderson Music. This fund was established in 2000 to honor Frances Anderson and Robert (Bob) Brewer for their 20 years of leadership to the St. Paul’s music program. This scholarship is for students majoring in music.

Bankston Good Samaritan. Established in 1998 to honor the Rev. Dr. L. James (Jim) Bankston and his wife Sandy, this need-based grant is available for students pursuing ordination through the Master of Divinity program at Perkins School of Theology. Each awardee must have “the potential to give back to society in a way reflected in Christ’s teachings.”

Robert Langdon Clark. This fund was established in 2002 in memory of Robert L. (Bob) Clark to support future teachers majoring in early childhood education (pre-kindergarten through third grade). Retired from the insurance business, Bob Clark died September 8, 2001. He also had been an educator, avid reader, and a devoted advocate for children.

Edith Dissinger. Established in 1982 by the will of Edith Dissinger, this scholarship assists students pursuing a church-related vocation. Mrs. Dissinger was an elementary school teacher in the Houston ISD and a long-time member of St. Paul’s and the Chapel Class.

Carolyn and Alfred H. Freeman. The Administrative Board established this fund in memory of the Rev. Dr. Al Freeman, who served St. Paul’s from 1956 until his untimely death in 1970. Mrs. Freeman died in 1982. This scholarship is awarded to students preparing for the ordained ministry in the United Methodist Church.

Wood-Young-Washburn Scholarship. The Wood-Young-Washburn Scholarship Fund was originally established by Louise Wood Washburn in memory of her parents. Mr. and Mrs. Wirt Nelms Wood, her sister, Mrs. Velma Yong and her husband, The Reverend William A Washburn. The purpose of this fund is to provide scholarships for students attending a college or university affiliated with the Methodist denomination in the State of Texas.

Sadler Bible Class Scholarship Fund. The Sadler Bible Class Scholarship Fund, named for a St. Paul’s Sunday School Class that existed at that time. The purpose of this scholarship is to provide scholarships for students attending a college or university affiliated with the Methodist denomination in the State of Texas.

Swickheimer-Mays. The Swickheimer-Mays Scholarship was established in 2005 by Tom Mays in memory of his mother, Sara Swickheimer Mays, who attended SMU. The scholarship is awarded to students attending SMU’s Perkins School of Theology.

Zane Ann Tigett Scholarship Fund. Originally set up as the St. Paul’s School Scholarship Fund, this fund was established by member of St. Paul’s who saw the need to provide an opportunity for the quality education offered by St. Paul’s School to pre-school-aged children, regardless of their financial situation. In May 2008, the scholarship was renamed to honor Mrs. Zane Ann Tigett upon her retirement as Director of St. Paul’s School.